1. Plot and character matter. As much as I might like Mrs. Dalloway and think it is a signal work of English literature, I realize that a good portion of the reading public find its style daunting. So fairly readable plots and carefully realized characters matter.
  2. Timeliness is close to godliness. People already know about Catch-22, To Kill a Mockingbird, The Great Gatsby, and so on. They’re out there; I think what people are really asking is “what would I like that maybe I don’t know about?” Somehow the more established and canonical a novel is, no matter how much we think someone might like it, the less likely they are to be excited about reading it.
  3. Endings make all the difference. Readers will forgive a great deal if the ending resonates, rends the heart, lifts the spirits, brings a tear, or otherwise elicits a powerful reaction. In no particular order:

What books would you recommend (almost) unequivocally?